MKE Week 10: Grow Forward or Die Trying

img_20181125_171035_971

Uncomfortable Decisions

Good morning fam! How are you?  So last week I told you all that I realized that I am mentally tough.  I had no idea I had that attribute until I heard a speech about the business I am building.  Storytime. So one day at the gym I was greeted by the gym owner that I work for and he pointed at me and

  • H: ” you are going to walk the stage.”
  • Me: “Who? Don’t start no mess sir”
  • H: “you are. you are going to do it.”

In my true Victoria form, I swatted the statement in the air and went on my way to work out. However, tell me why his words were ringing in my spirit?  First and foremost, let me explain what that means.  ‘Walking the stage’ refers to what you do depending on your division during a  bodybuilding competition. To prep, you train, diet, and practice posing to show the development of your body.  When the competition has arrived you walk before a table of judges on a large stage in front of God and country in a bikini(ladies)/trunks or speedos(gentlemen) so here is the thing: to do this period–let alone win– you have to have an insane amount of mental toughness and discipline.

So I disclosed what “the boss”, said to one of my friends and she told me, ” they don’t just say that to anyone friend”. Honey, was shocked. Discombobulated!!! I said,” well I buried that dream in my 20’s. I’m over it.”  She said, “granted it’s a decade later but maybe this is the time to do it.” Later that night she sends me a quote from a book she’s reading:

Dreams aren’t just born; they are sometimes born again.  Most dreams die not because they’re the dream but because the time is wrong.  We are not ready for it, or it isn’t ready for us.  But what seems like a waiting period is really a grace period. Don’t put a period where God puts a comma. When the time is right, dust off the dream and rededicate it to God.

I told her, ” heffah, how dare you reawaken something I had already buried and made peace with!” Was I mad?  Not really, more like scared.

Here is the deal. I have a difficult decision to make. Do I let the dream I desired in my heart so many years ago stay buried or do I go for it or die trying(proverbially speaking)? So later… I told the gym owner I have been thinking about what you said.  He said, “about the comp? You are going to do it.” I said, “Yes I am going to do it”  So there you have it folks! I am going to compete in July of 2019.

DMP Shenanigans

What’s crazy is walking the stage is a part of my DMP. Check this out: my co-workers(who are personal trainers and have competition experience) have agreed to help prepare me. One co-worker is going to train me and the other is going to do my diet! I am overwhelmed by how quickly everything is falling into place. My friends asked me so many questions. I told them, I don’t know. I am just walking by faith with each step.

When R2A2 and Hanel Collide

I am absolutely living for the Master Key Lessons this go around.  I don’t see it as a chore anymore more like a polishing cloth that is uncovering the hidden shine in my mind and spirit.  The line that got me thinking was line 18.  Check it out:

fun days GIF“We see the law in operation everywhere; all nature testifies to the operation of the law by silently, constantly expressing itself in the law of growth. Where there is growth, there must be life; where there is life there must be harmony so that everything that has life is constantly attracting to itself the conditions and the supply which is necessary for its most complete expression.” (Line 18, Hanel, Master Keys Lesson 10).

Now hold up wait a minute. Put a little stop in it. “Where there is growth there must be life…Hmmm? I have heard it said that “Where there is no growth there is death.” Can it be that they are quoting Hanel?  I don’t know.  What I do know is this.  I know exactly what it feels like to completely grow as much as you can in a career, field of study, city, even family and it feels like you are dying on the inside.  Like a plant that needs to be transplanted because its roots have completely gone as far as it can go without break through the terra cotta.  John Maxwell once said, “if you are the smartest[fastest, most talented] person in the room, then you are in the wrong room”.  I have seen line 18 at one of the most significant jobs I have ever done in my life.  I’ll explain.

When I worked for my alma mater, Texas A&M International University, I was constantly asked by admins, business owners, and friends about college students who could fulfill their positions they needed. Also, opportunities would open up for the students we mentored to go study abroad or do an internship.  What stopped them from taking advantage of these opportunities wasn’t the lack of talent, intelligence, energy or passion.  It was their position.

blood moon sun GIF You see they were not ready or positioned to be recommended or take advantage because they didn’t do the necessary tasks(ie complete a resume, have a solid work ethic or have their passport ready to go) to be recommended or take advantage of the opportunity. So with my dismay, I watched countless students be passed by because they were not in a position to do so.  Just like the moon positions itself to catch the rays of the sun so it can shine at night we must to position ourselves to catch the rays of advantage. When we position ourselves to do so we create that “harmony”.  How profound…

I always look forward to hearing from you fam.

XOXO,

Victoria